Feb 07, 2019

Men In 7th, Women in 8th After First Day of NWC Swim Championships

A Winning Tradition

  • 12 All-NWC Athletes
  • One NCAA Nationals Individual Appearance

Photo Courtesy of Puget Sound Athletics

FEDERAL WAY --- The George Fox men and women's swim team kicked off opening night of the 2019 Northwest Conference swimming championships with four relay events.


The women's team started the night with an eighth-place finish in the women's 200-yard medley relay. Madeline Angerame, Joanna Zuckerman, Aspen Monkhouse, and Kaitlyn Brooks finished with a time of 1:54.99 to grab 22 points for the Bruins. Olivia Gibson, Wood, Chloe Weber, and Grace Ferguson were next up in the women's 800-yard free, placing seventh with a time of 8:01.07.

The women's team finished the pair of relays with 46 team points to sit in eighth in the team standings. Whitman and Linfield are tied for first with 74 points, Whitworth is in third with 64 points, Puget Sound is in fourth with 58 points, Pacific Lutheran is in fifth with 56 points, Lewis & Clark is in sixth with 52 points and Willamette is in seventh with 48 points.

On the men's side, the Bruins placed sixth in the 200-yard medley relay and seventh in the 800-yard free relay. Noah Burlingame, Drew Johnson, Zach Johnson, and Caleb Dean improved upon their seed time (1:41.20) with a time of 1:37.04 to record 26 points. Geuel Christian Villacrusis, Austin Burdick, Justin Delfin, and Seth Chambers smashed their seed time (8:10.65) with a time of 7:59.37 to give the Bruins 24 points.

The men's team currently sits in seventh out of nine teams with 50 points. Whitworth won both relay events on the night and leads the field with a perfect 80 points. Puget Sound is in second with 66 points, Linfield is in third with 60 points, Whitman is in fourth with 58 points, Lewis & Clark sits at fifth with 56 points and Willamette is in sixth with 52 points. The Bruins lead Pacific and Pacific Lutheran.

What Comes Next:

The Bruins will take on day two with the morning session starting at 10 am.