Nov 02, 2019

Bruins Swim Well Against Whitman In Newberg

A Winning Tradition

  • 12 All-NWC Athletes
  • One NCAA Nationals Individual Appearance

NEWBERG --- The George Fox swim team hosted its second dual meet of the 2019-20 season on Saturday, Nov. 2, against the Whitman Blues and produced good results in the water against a top-tier conference opponent.


The Bruins' young roster continued to show growth in its second season with some early top three-finishes.

Olivia Gibson won the women's 200 yard freestyle with a time of 2:02.37 for nine Bruin points, and Maddy Andergame picked up two more in the same event after finishing fourth with a time of 2:11.28.

Aspen Monkhouse won the 50 yard freestyle with a time of 24.79 to score nine for the Bruins as the top finisher. Monkhouse also claimed the 100 freestyle crown after swimming a 56.20.

Gabrielle Wood placed second in the 200 yard I.M. for the Bruins with a time of 2:24.44 and Annabelle Hynes was just behind, finishing third at 2:25.70 for seven combined Bruin points in the event.

Tessa Orozco finished in third for the Bruins in the 200 yard fly for another three Bruin points.

The Bruins' best event on the men's side was the 100 yard freestyle – Adin Williams, Jason Levi Gibson, and Elijah Dapkus came first, second, and third to claim 16 points for the Bruins in the event.

Gibson also won the 50 yard freestyle for the Bruins and claimed nine points in the effort.

Caleb Dean won the 200 yard I.M. with a time of 2:03.08 for another nine points for George Fox and Hunter Bartoo was seconds behind to finish in third, claiming three points after swimming a 2:07.84 time.

Bartoo came in second in the men's 200 yard breaststroke with a time of 2:24.37 and William Anderson also scored for the Bruins in the event after placing fourth with a time of 2:29.24.

Dapkus came in second for the Bruins in the 200 yard freestyle with a time of 1:53.01 to score four points for the Bruins.

What Happens Next

The Bruins travel to take on Southwest Oregon Community College (SWOCC) on Saturday, Nov. 9.