Mar 26, 2011

WESTMONT CLASSIC: Johnson, Arnold, and Stam Hit Provisional Marks at Westmont

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • Three Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • One Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

Westmont Collegiate Classic Results (M&W)

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. – With three NCAA Division III National Championship women’s provisional qualifying marks, 35 Northwest Conference qualifying marks, and seven first-place finishes, the George Fox University Bruins closed out their spring break trip to southern California in fine style in the Westmont College Collegiate Classic here Saturday.


In the women’s team scores, host Westmont took first place with 154.50 points, followed by George Fox with 130, Fresno Pacific University with 128, California Lutheran University with 90.50, The Master’s College with 36, Grace College with 35, and the University of California-Santa Barbara with 10. 

Pacing the Bruins were Irene Johnson, who won the 100 meter hurdles (14.74), Alexis Arnold, who was third in the 100 hurdles (14.87), and Beth Stam, who won the javelin (142-0 / 43.28m), all with NCAA provisional marks.  Johnson and Arnold are the top two in the conference in the 100 hurdles while Stam is the NWC leader in the javelin with their marks.  Johnson and Stam are both second nationally and Arnold is fourth in the nation in their respective events.

Other Bruin winners included Angie Miller in the long jump (17-8.0 / 5.38m) and the triple jump (36-8.25 / 11.18m), Marlee Zakrevsky in the hammer (148-1.0 / 45.15m), and the 4x400 meter relay team of Rachel Meis, Alyssa Turner, Arnold, and Johnson (3:59.17).

Seconds went to Arnold in the 100 meter dash (12.73), Turner in the 400 meter hurdles (1:05.06), Frances Pavao in the high jump (5-3.0 / 1.60m), and Rachael Adkins in the triple jump (36-6.25 / 11/13m).,  

Third-place finishes were posted by Meis in the 400 meter dash (1:00.54), and the 4x100 meter relay team of Emily Davison, Johnson, Jodi Van Gorkom, and Meis (50.13). 

Ten other conference marks were posted by the Bruin women, giving them 23 in all: Niki Stilwill in the 100 hurdles (16.68, 7th in the event); Olivia Fleming (1:08.47, 4th) and Lizy Alaimo (1:12.01, 8th) in the 400 hurdles; Melissa Leighty in the high jump (4-9.0 / 1.45m, 10th); Adkins (16-8.5 / 5.09m, 4th) and Esther Harder (16-1.5 / 4.91m, 6th) in the long jump; Stam (35-0.5 / 10.68m, 5th) and Davison (33-8.75 / 10.28m, 7th) in the triple jump; Zakrevsky in the discus (124-4.0 / 37.90m, 4th); and Hana Fisher in the hammer (135-4.0 / 41.26m).


Fresno Pacific won the men’s division with a total of 187 points to `63 for Westmont.  George Fox and California Lutheran tied for third with 86.50 points each, followed by The Master’s with 26, Grace with 23, and California-Santa Barbara with 16.

Event winners for the Bruins were Micah Strong in the 100 meter dash (11.02), and Kai Ojala in the high jump (6-0.75 / 1.85m).  Posting seconds were Nate Dillow in the 110 meter hurdles (15.30), Zach Pankratz in the high jump (5-10.75 / 1.80m), and Jon Udlock in the javelin (174-4 / 53.14m). 

Thirds went to Casey Taylor in the 100 (11.20), Strong in the 200 meter dash (22.64), Trevor Fekkes in the high jump (5-7.0 / 1.70m), Arick Morrell in the discus (146-6 / 41.62m), and the 4x400 meter relay team of David Dillow, Pankratz, Nate Dillow, and Allen Cassel (3:27.49). 

Other NWC qualifying marks reached by the Bruins included Taylor in the 200 (23.10, 4th in the event); Joseph Pia (4:06.13, 6th) and Cassel (4:07.29, 7th) in the 1,500 meter run; and Pankratz in the triple jump (41-10.75 / 12.77m, 5th).

NEXT: George Fox will participate in two events this weekend.  A select few, probably the Bruins’ distance runners, will compete in the Friday portion of this weekend’s Willamette University Invitational, which gets under way at 3:00 p.m. in Salem,Ore.  The largest group of the men’s and women’s teams will enter the Linfield Jenn Boyman Memorial Invitational on Saturday, which starts at 10:00 a.m. in McMinnville, Ore.