Mar 04, 2017

Bruins Hit Big Marks at Three Different Meets

A Winning Tradition

  • 6 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017)
  • 1 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • Three Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • One Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

Photo Taken By: Jake Ryan

MCMINNVILLE, Ore. --- The George Fox men's and women's indoor track and field team competed in two different meets March 3-4.

Pointer National Qualifier:
Jacoby Wolfe hit a winning mark in the men's high jump with a jump of 6-09.75. His mark is good enough to qualify for the indoor nationals and a new personal best. 

Rachel Gibbs led the Bruins in the women's 1 Mile run with a time of 5:27.13 to place 12th out of 28 runners. Her time is good for sixth All-Time in the George Fox women's indoor records. Kayla Moore improved upon her record in the 5000m run with a time of 19:04.93. She is still second All-Time, but improves her time by 18 seconds. Josh Meyer ran a time of 16:03.93 in the men's 5000m run and is second All-Time.

Linfield Erik Anderson Icebreaker:
Annie Wright placed third in the women's 100m dash with a time of 13.09. Macadia Calavan placed third in the women's 800m run with a time of 2:26.58.

Dakota Buhler won the women's triple jump at 36-03.50 and finished second in the women's 100m hurdles with a time of 16.55. Buhler also won the women's long jump with a mark of 17-11.50, while Lis Larsen placed third with a mark of 16-07.00. Erin Rowland placed third in the women's triple jump with a mark of 35-00.50.

Justine Benner won the women's high jump with a mark of 5-00.50. Kylie Weatherford placed second in the women's pole vault with a mark of 11-01.75.

Emily Hamilton won the women's discus throw with the seventh best mark on the All-Time outdoor records at 127-07. Hamilton also won the women's hammer throw with a mark of 148-07.

On the men's side, Vernon Lott ran a time of 11.23 to take third in the men's 100m dash. Henry Fillmore placed third in the men's 110m hurdles with a time of 16.27. Kenny May, Tobias Webb, John Koch and Thomas Hughes placed second in the men's 4x400m relay with a time of 3:30.97.

Cameron Seymour and Michael Morikawa placed second and third in the men's long jump. Seymour put up a mark of 21-11.50, while Morikawa jumped a mark of 21-08.00.

Alex Canchola won the men's triple jump with a mark of 45-00.25. Caleb Dalzell placed second in the men's shot put with a throw of 48-03.25 to boast a new personal best and the third best mark in the George Fox outdoor records. Dalzell also won the men's discus throw with a heave of 152-03 to record the seventh All-Time mark in the George Fox outdoor records.

Seth Nonnenmacher won the men's javelin throw with a mark of 203-10.

"We went into the meet knowing it was going to be a work day and the rain held off for a good portion of the day," said head coach John Smith. "The colder temperatures were not conducive to big marks, but we saw some great competition from our athletes. Caleb (Dalzell) had a big discus and shot mark and is showing he will be a top contender in those events. Dakota (Buhler) continues her consistency in the long and triple jump and is looking for a podium finish at the NCAA Indoor championships next weekend. We are very excited about where the team is at, and we will continue to build momentum towards our team conference championship goals."

What It Means:
The Bruins will send six athletes to the NCAA Division III Indoor Nationals. Rachael Kraske, Sarah King, Dakota Buhler, Annie Wright, Asia Greene and Jacoby Wolfe will represent the Bruins March 10-11 in Naperville, Illinois.

What Comes Next:
The indoor season will come to a halt at Nationals, while the outdoor season is just gearing up. The Bruins will head to the Pacific Preview Saturday, March 11.