Mar 08, 2017

Bruins Garner 7 of 8 Region Awards; Send Six to Indoor Championships

A Winning Tradition

  • 6 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017)
  • 1 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • Three Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • One Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

NEWBERG, Ore. --- George Fox University's men's and women's indoor track and field team nearly swept the Regional Athletes and Coaches of the Year awards for the 2017 NCAA Division III Indoor Track & Field season, announced by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Each of the eight regions honored both genders' top track athletes and field athletes, and the top men's and women's head coaches and assistant coaches.

Award winners were determined by a vote of USTFCCCA member coaches following a nomination period. Only those individuals from USTFCCCA member programs are eligible for awards.

The Bruins came away with seven of the eight awards in the West Region.

Rachael Kraske was named women's track athlete of the year, and is second nationally in the 60m hurdles (8.69) and second regionally in the 60m (7.89). She is set to compete in the 60m hurdles at the Indoor Championships.

Jacoby Wolfe was named men's field athlete of the year, and holds the NCAA Div. III seventh best high jump at 6-09.75. He finished outside of the Top 4 just once in six meets, while claiming three event titles. Wolfe is set to compete in the high jump at the Indoor Championships.

Asia Greene was named women's field athlete of the year, and is ninth nationally in the long jump with a mark of 18-11.25. Greene is looking to seal her third Indoor All-American honor as she is set to compete at the Indoor Championships in the long jump.

Head Coach John Smith received both men's and women's Coach of the Year awards in the West Region, while Adam Haldorson was named men's and women's Assistant Coach of the Year.

Smith is in his 11th year at the helm of the program at George Fox, and receives his sixth Coach of the Year Award in Indoors from the USTFCCCA. Haldorson is in his sixth season at George Fox and earns his fourth award, as he was previously named Indoor West Region Assistant Coach of the Year in 2014 and 2015.

Schedule For Bruins Athletes at the Indoor Championships

Friday, March 10

Asia Greene, Long Jump - Finals, 7a.m. (PST)

Annie Wright, Pentathlon, 7:30a.m. – 1:40p.m. (PST)

Rachael Kraske, 60m Hurdles – Prelims, 10:45a.m. (PST)

Sarah King, 400m – Prelims, 11a.m. (PST)


Saturday, March 11

Dakota Buhler, Triple Jump - Finals, 7a.m. (PST)

Jacoby Wolfe, High Jump - Finals, 7a.m. (PST)

Rachael Kraske, 60m Hurdles – Finals, 10:35a.m. (PST)

Sarah King, 400m – Finals, 11:05a.m. (PST)