Mar 25, 2017

Bruins Post Big Marks at Westmont Classic

A Winning Tradition

  • 6 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017)
  • 1 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • Three Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • One Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. --- The George Fox men's and women's track and field team completed its stay down in California Saturday, as the Bruins competed in the Westmont Classic.

The Bruins kicked off the Classic with a bang, as Asia Greene posted the nation's best mark in the women's long jump with a school record of 19-6.25. She also went on to win the women's 100m dash with a time of 12.55.

Kylie Weatherford won the women's pole vault with a mark of 12-2.75, and moved up to second in the nation. Her mark is now second All-Time in the George Fox record books.

Seth Nonnenmacher won the men's javelin throw with a mark of 208'0", posting the third best mark in the nation.

Jacoby Wolfe continued his dominance in the men's high jump, winning the event with a mark of 6'8.75" to move to second in the nation.

Sarah King placed third in the women's 400m dash with a time of 57.37 – she was one of three runners to break the one minute mark. King also won the women's 400m hurdles running a time of 1:03.97

Victoria SchroederHailey Hartney and Justine Benner all tied for second in the women's high jump with a mark of 5'1".

David Guild placed third in the men's 400m hurdles with a time of 55.94. Ben Hortaleza won the men's long jump with a mark of 22-3.5 and is now 16th in the nation. 

Dakota Buhler also made a move up the nation's best with a mark of 37-9.25 to take first in the women's triple jump. She now has the third best mark in the nation.

Cameron Seymour, Vernon Lott, Kenny May and David Soo teamed up in the men's 4x100m relay. The four Bruins won the event with a time of 42.44, edging out Pomona-Pitzer, Moorpark and Westmont. Lott also placed second in the men's 100m dash with a time of 11.04, while teammate Soo finished behind him in third with a mark of 11.30. Lott finished up his meet with a second place finish in the men's 200m dash with a time of 22.20. 

Christian Hughes finished third in the men's hammer throw, heaving a toss of 41.20m (135-1).

Caleb Dalzell posted the best mark in the men's shot put with a throw of 14.33m (47-1), and won the men's discus throw.

Matney Jamieson won her first ever collegiate event in the women's shot put with a mark of 11.21m (36-7).

Haley Strowbridge took home second in the women's javelin throw with a heave of 117'8". Abriana Wedin won the dicsus throw with a mark of 33.77m. 

"It was fun to see the sun for a good portion of the day, and we put in some good work and had some outstanding national and Top 10 George Fox All-Time marks as well as new conference qualifiers and PRs," said head coach John Smith. "We are looking forward to growing as a team this next week and having a great meet at UCSD next weekend to put an exclamation point on the trip."

What Comes Next:
The Bruins will take on three events Saturday, April 1, as groups will compete in the California Collegiate Invitational, the Linfield Invite and the SF State at Stanford.