Apr 22, 2017

Bruins Sweep T&F Northwest Conference Championships

A Winning Tradition

  • 6 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017)
  • 1 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • Three Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • One Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

SPOKANE, Wash. --- For the first time in program history, the George Fox men's and women's track and field team swept the Northwest Conference Championships.

The win on the men's side marks the first ever NWC Championship in the program, while the women record their fifth title in seven years.

The Bruins finished with 242 points on the men's side and 213.50 points on the women's side. Whitworth finished second in both divisions with 145 points on the men's side and 175 points on the women's side. This marks the first time in seven years that the Whitworth men didn't win the NWC Championship. In total, the Bruins had 92 athletes contribute to both wins. The men had 48 athletes contribute to the final score, while the women had 44 athletes.

Head Coach John Smith was named men's and women's NWC Coach of the Year, which is his first honor on the men's side and fifth honor on the women's side.

"This was a complete team effort and we had a lot of amazing performances," said head coach John Smith. "It is so humbling to think of all the Bruin athletes and coaches who came before us and paved the way for this moment in time to happen.  It would also be impossible without the University support, so many departments and people have a fingerprint on this win.  We are proud to be able to hold up a team trophy for all those from the past and the present at George Fox, and glorify God through our abilities." 

Alex Canchola was named Men's Field Athlete of the Year for the second year in a row. Canchola won the men's decathlon with 6,390 points. He also went on to win the men's triple jump and men's long jump. His mark in the triple jump of 47-01.00 is a new personal best and No. 6 All-Time at George Fox. Canchola is now 18th in the nation in the men's triple jump.

Asia Greene won the women's 100m and 200m. She broke her own school record in the 100m with a time of 12.14 and broke the school record in the 200m with a time of 24.78. The previous record stood for 38 years and was held by Joyce Yates in 1979. Greene is now 17th in the nation in the women's 100m and 10th in the nation in the women's 200m. Greene also won the women's long jump with a mark of 18-10.50, and teamed up with Kiana RasubalaLis Larsen and Macadia Calavan to win the women's 4x100m relay with a time of 48.94.

Annie Wright placed fourth in the women's 200m with a time of 25.70 to move to 10th All-Time. She also placed fourth in the women's shot put, third in the women's javelin and won the women's heptathlon.

Sarah King won the women's 400m and the women's 400m hurdles. Her time in the 400m hurdles was a new stadium record at 1:00.56 to break Rachael Kraske's time set in 2014 of 1:00.70. She is now No. 1 All-Time at George Fox in 400m hurdles, and improved her time personal best in the 400m to No. 2 All-Time in 400m. King is now 12th in the nation in the women's 400m and second in the nation in the women's 400m hurdles.

Vernon Lott won the men's 100m and placed third in the men's 200m. Lott joined teammates Cameron SeymourDavid Soo and Noah LaMadrid to win the men's 4x100m relay with a time of 42.33. He also teamed up with John KochChris Polk and David Guild to win the men's 4x400m relay with a time of 3:19.96.

Polk won the men's 800m with a time of 1:52.46. His time is a new personal best and moves him up to No. 3 All-Time at George Fox. Polk is now 15th in the nation.

Guild placed second in the men's 400m hurdles with a time of 54.10. He is now No. 8 All-Time at George Fox and 20th in the nation.

Jacoby Wolfe won the men's high jump with a mark of 6-08.25, while Devin Geiger placed third with a jump of 6-04.25.

Chris Gray finished second in the men's pole vault with a mark of 14-06.25.

Ben Hortaleza finished second behind Canchola in the men's long jump with a mark of 22-05.00.

Caleb Dalzell finished second in the men's shot put and men's discus throw. He also took home fourth in the men's hammer throw.

Seth Nonnenmacher finished second in the men's javelin with a mark of 218-02.

The following is a list of All-Conference athletes. First, second and third place finishers earn medals and are recognized as All-Conference athletes at the Track and Field Championships. Next to their names are the events in which they earned All-Conference status.  

All-Conference Athletes:
Greene, 100m, 200m, Long Jump, 4x100m Relay
Buhler, 100m Hurdles, Long Jump, Triple Jump, Heptathlon
King, 400m Hurdles, 4x400m Relay
Rasubala, 4x100m Relay, 4x400m Relay
Larsen, 4x100m Relay
Calavan, 4x100m Relay, 4x400m Relay
Kylie Weatherford, 4x400m Relay, Pole Vault
Victoria Schroeder, High Jump
Hailey Hartney, High Jump
Justine Benner, High Jump
Sierra Robertson, Pole Vault
Wright, Javelin, Heptathlon
Lott, 100m, 200m, 4x100m Relay, 4x400m Relay
Koch, 400m, 4x400m Relay, Decathlon
Polk, 800m, 4x400m Relay
Parr, 800m, 1500m
Guild, 400m Hurdles, 4x400m Relay
Thomas Hughes, 400m Hurdles
Seymour, 4x100m Relay
Soo, 4x100m Relay
LaMadrid, 4x100m Relay
Wolfe, High Jump
Devin Geiger, High Jump
Chris Gray, Pole Vault
Canchola, Long Jump, Triple Jump, Decathlon
Ben Hortaleza, Long Jump
Dalzell, Shot Put, Discus Throw
Nonnenmacher, Javelin