May 13, 2017

Bruins Compete at Portland Twilight

A Winning Tradition

  • 6 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017)
  • 1 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • Three Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • One Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

PORTLAND, Ore. --- It was a great couple of days for the George Fox men's and women's track and field team, as the Bruins spent three days competing at the Portland Twilight hosted by the University of Portland.

Caleb Dalzell had a huge mark in the men's discus, as the sophomore hurled a mark of 165-6.5. He is now 11th in the nation and is third All-Time in the George Fox records.

Chris Gray hit a four inch personal best in the men's pole vault with a mark of 14-10.25. He is now seventh All-Time at George Fox.

Sarah King won the women's 400m hurdles with a time of 1:00.93.

Jacoby Wolfe won the men's high jump with a mark of 6-8.25. Ben Hortaleza was the top finisher in the men's long jump with a jump of 22-5.

Christian Hughes placed second in the men's hammer throw with a mark of 42.49m. Adam Shull placed third with a throw of 42.00m. Chris Polk ran a time of 1:52.90 to finish 14th out of 35 runners.

Kylie Weatherford won the women's pole vault with a mark of 11-10.5. Asia Greene and Lis Larsen finished second and third in the women's long jump, respectively. Greene hit a mark of 5.68m and Larsen set a mark of 5.06m.

What Comes Next:
The Bruins have one last meet before they take on the 2017 NCAA Outdoor National Championships. The Whitworth Final Qualifier will serve as the last meet for the Bruins before they head to Nationals.