Jan 13, 2018

Bruins Post Excellent Day At Ed Jacoby Invite & Multi

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • 5 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year Finalists (Annie Wright - 2018 & 2019, Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • 1 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Annie Wright, 2019)
  • 1 George Pasero Team of the Year (2018)
  • 1 Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

NAMPA, Idaho --- The George Fox men's and women's track and field team opened up the 2018 indoor season with multiple school records, as they competed at the Ed Jacoby Invite & Multi Jan. 12-13.


Day one was swept up by Annie Wright and Alissa Swilley as the only competitors for the Bruins. The pair had a decent first-day performance with Wright finishing second in the women's 800m run, fifth in the women's long jump and first in the women's shot put for her top events. Swilley finished fifth in the women's 800m run, seventh in the women's long jump and seventh in the women's shot put. After the final day, Wright came home with third place after scoring 3343 points. Swilley finished ninth with 2780 points.

As for the other Bruins, Kennedy Taube made a huge debut for her freshman season, breaking the school record in the women's 60m dash with a time of 7.72. The previous school record was held by Asia Greene in 2017 with a time of 7.84. She placed third out of seven runners.

Sarah King broke her own school record in the women's 200m dash after posting a time of 25.04. Her previous mark was clocked at 25.45 in the 2017 season. She finished third overall out of 24 runners.

As for the men, Vernon Lott finished seventh in the men's 60m dash with a time of 7.04. His time ties the school record in the men's 60m dash set by Amandu Koroma back in 1977.

Jacoby Wolfe won the men's high jump with a mark of 6-08.25. Alex Canchola finished second in the men's triple jump with a leap of 45-04.50.

"We had a great start to the indoor season with all the athletes who competed," said head coach John Smith. "It's fun to see all the hard work they did in the summer and fall paying off! Kennedy Taube kicked off her George Fox career with a school record and a time that is looking to be very strong on the national scene which is pretty exciting."

What Comes Next:

The Bruins will compete next at the UW Invitational Friday, Jan. 26-27.