Mar 07, 2018

Bruins Garner 42 USTFCCCA All-Region Honors; Send Six to Indoor Championships

A Winning Tradition

  • 6 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017)
  • 1 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • Three Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • One Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

NEW ORLEANS --- The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) have announced the NCAA Division III Regional Awards for the 2018 Indoor Track & Field season.

Click here for the full list of the USTFCCCA All-Region athletes.

George Fox dominated the USTFCCCA Awards, as the Bruins came away with 42 All-Region honors, a West Region Coach of the Year on the men's and women's side, a West Region Assistant Coach of the Year on the men's and women's side, a West Region Men's Field Athlete of the Year, a West Region Women's Field Athlete of the Year and a West Region Women's Track Athlete of the Year.

Head Coach John Smith earned his seventh Coach of the Year award in Indoors from the USTFCCCA. Adam Haldorson is in his seventh season at George Fox and earns his fifth award as the West Region Assistant Coach of the Year. The pair of coaches both swept last year's awards for the West Region.

This marks the most awards the Bruins have earned from the USTFCCCA for All-Region honors. The women's team led all programs with 24 awards and finished the season holding the top spot in the West Region. Annie Wright earned five All-Region Honors to lead the Bruins and is one of two athletes in NCAA Div. III this season to earn five honors.

Jacoby Wolfe was named West Region Men's Field Athlete of the Year, while Sarah King earned West Region Women's Track Athlete of the Year and Dakota Buhler earned West Region Women's Field Athlete of the Year.

The Bruins will compete in eight events at the NCAA Division III Men's and Women's Indoor Track & Field Championships. The championships will be held March 9-10 at the Birmingham CrossPlex in Birmingham, Alabama, with Birmingham Southern College and the Birmingham CrossPlex serving as hosts.

Athletes Competing at NCAA Div. III Indoor Nationals

Kennedy Taube – women's 60m

Sara Turner - women's 60m

Sarah King – women's 60m, women's 200m, women's 400m

Dakota Buhler – women's triple jump

Annie Wright – women's indoor pentathlon

Jacoby Wolfe – men's high jump