Mar 31, 2018

Bruins Continue To Climb The Nation's Top Marks

A Winning Tradition

  • 6 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017)
  • 1 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • Three Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • One Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

LA JOLLA --- The George Fox men's and women's track and field team posted two school records at the UC San Diego Collegiate Open.


Sarah King continued her stellar performance on the season, as the junior set the school record in the women's 200m. Her time of 24.76 beats the previous record held by Asia Greene in 2017 with a time of 24.78. She is now fifth in the nation.

Kennedy Taube and Sara Turner also had solid performances in the women's 200m, as Taube climbed up to fifth all-time and Turner moved up to sixth all-time.

Turner set a new personal best in the women's 100m with a time of 12.22 to move up to second all-time at George Fox. Taube also matched her teammate with a 12.22 to tie with Turner on the all-time list. King finished with a 12.28 mark and is now fourth all-time.

Kiana Rasubala, Macadia Calavan, Katie James and King ran a time of 3:52.42 to move into sixth all-time at George Fox.

On the men's side, Caleb Dalzell uncorked a huge PR to set the school record in the discus with a 177-1 throw in placing second in a field with Div. I competition. He now leads the nation among NCAA Div. III athletes. His mark bested the school record of 168-6 set in 1980 by Charlie Keeran.

Chris Polk won the men's 400m with a time of 48.93. Vernon Lott and Kenny May finished second and third in the men's 200m, respectively. Lott finished with a time of 21.70, while May clocked in a 22.02.

Polk, Lott, May and Colin Hyatt ran in the men's 4x100m relay with a time of 41.38 to improve upon their second place all-time at George Fox. The Bruins now have the leading mark in the nation.

What Comes Next:

The Bruins will compete next at Linfield on April 7.