Apr 20, 2018

Men In First, Women In Third After First Day Of NWC Championships

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • Three Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • One Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

MCMINNVILLE --- After the first day of the Northwest Conference Track & Field Championships, the George Fox men's team sits in first and the women's team sits in third.


The No. 3-ranked men's team holds the lead over the eight teams with 76.5 points. Willamette is in second with 51 points while Whitworth is in third with 33 points.

The No. 2-ranked women's team sits in third place with 44 points. Whitworth leads after the first day with 72 points, while Linfield is in second with 56 points.

Top Performers - Finals

Alex Canchola won the men's long jump with a mark of 23-03.25 to move up to fifth all-time on the top-10 list. Noah LaMadrid finished second and set a new personal record by about a foot and finished just outside the George Fox all-time list. He recorded a mark of 22-09.25

Jacoby Wolfe won the men's high jump with a mark of 6-6.25.

Caleb Dalzell finished second in the men's shot put with a mark of 48-00.

Rylan Larsen finished fourth in the men's 3000m steeplechase and set a new personal record of 20 seconds.

Dakota Buhler placed third in the women's long jump with a mark of 17-11.05.

Top Performers – Prelims

Kenny May (100m, 200)

Sarah King (400m, 400m hurdles)

Jack Ammon (800m)

Annie Wright (100m hurdles)

Sara Turner (100m)

Rianna Comery and Sarah Henry also moved up in the Bruins' all-time list to fifth and sixth in the women's 3000m steeplechase. Comery finished with a time of 12:11.92, while Henry recorded a time of 12:14.92.

What Comes Next:

The Bruins complete the meet on Saturday with both teams looking to defend their titles.