A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • 5 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year Finalists (Annie Wright - 2018 & 2019, Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • 1 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Annie Wright, 2019)
  • 1 George Pasero Team of the Year (2018)
  • 1 Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

NEW ORLEANS --- Head Coach John Smith and assistants Adam Haldorson and Gabe Haberly were named Coaches of the Year for the 2018 NCAA Division III Outdoor T&F season, as announced by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Coach Smith was named Women's National Coach of the Year, Haldorson was named Women's National Assistant Coach of the Year and Haberly was named Men's National Assistant Coach of the Year. This marks the first time that Smith, Haldorson and Haberly have been named National Coaches of the Year.

Smith helped the Bruins bring home their third National Championship in the school's history this season. The women's track and field captured the National Championship at the 2018 NCAA Division III Outdoor Track and Field Championships. The Bruins made a splash in the USTFCCCA National Team Rankings all year and shined at the Track and Field Championships. The Bruins scored in seven different events, including a victory in the women's 4x100m relay and top-3 finishes in the heptathlon, long jump and high jump.

Haldorson played a key role in helping the Bruins grab a share of the national title at the NCAA meet. He oversees the sprinters, hurdlers, high jumpers, throwers and the heptathletes. His two brightest stars in Sarah King and Annie Wright delivered big at the NCAA meet with points in the 400, 200 and the heptathlon.

Haberly has been instrumental throughout the career of Seth Nonnenmacher, helping Nonnenmacher repeat as a National Champion in the men's javelin. Nonnenmacher is now fifth in the NCAA DIII history after his impressive 241-11 throw at the NCAA meet. Haberly also coaches the sprinters, the 4x100 relay team and the pole vaulters.