Jul 27, 2018

Women's Team Grabs Scholar Team of the Year and 17 Bruins Earn All-Academic From USTFCCCA

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • Three Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • One Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

NEW ORLEANS --- The George Fox men's and women's track and field team brought home more awards this week, as the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Association (USTFCCCA) announced the women's team as the Scholar Team of the Year and named 17 All-Academic athletes to the list. 

In order to be in contention for Scholar Team of the Year, a program must finish highly at the respective national championship meet and have at least a 3.00 cumulative team GPA. The Bruins, who brought home the school's first outdoor title was awarded the Scholar Team of the Year after posting a 3.43 GPA. Last season, the women's team grabbed a spot on the All-Academic Team with a 3.33 GPA.

As for the Bruins individuals, the following athletes made the list: Dakota Buhler, Macadia Calavan, Katie James, Sarah King, Stacy Kozlowski, Lis Larsen, Megan Miller, Kiana Rasubala, Alissa Swilley, Kennedy Taube, Annie Wright, Jack Ammon, Alex Canchola, Caleb Dalzell, Berkley Hill and Jon Proctor. Taube was named twice on the women's side.

To qualify for USTFCCCA All-Academic honors, a student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative GPA of 3.30 and must have met at least one of the following athletic standards.

  • Competed in an NCAA Indoor or Outdoor Championship
  • Finished the regular season ranked in the national top-50 in an individual event or ranked in the national top-35 in a relay event on the official NCAA Descending Order List