Feb 23, 2019

Bruins Break Relay Records at SPU Event

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • Three Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • One Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

SEATTLE --- The George Fox men and women's indoor team took its talent to the Seattle Pacific University NCAA Final Qualifier on Saturday.


The George Fox women's 4x400-relay team of Elizabeth Warren, Annie Wright, Bethany Gingerich, and Sarah King placed second out of eight teams. They finished with a time of 3:50.49 breaking the George Fox school record.

Kennedy Taube won the women's 60m dash with a time of 7.70. Sydney Radigan was the other Bruin to finish in the top four of the finals with a time of 7.90. Taube went on to win the women's 200m with a time of 25.20.

As for the men, Kenny May and Cameron Seymour got things started off with a 1-2 punch in the men's 60m preliminaries. Seymour won the men's finals in the 60m dash with a time of 6.94. May's 6.92 time in the prelims broke his own school record at George Fox. 

Seymour finished second in the men's long jump with a mark of 21-11.75.

Matthew Proctor placed fourth in the men's 60m hurdles with a time of 8.82. May, Davis Mihelich, Jack Ammon, Chris Polk ran as the Bruins' A team in the men's 4x400 relay, winning the event with a time of 3:18.37. That mark breaks the George Fox record set back in 1997 by Howery, Chaney, Parker, Carmack of 3:22.16. The B team of Berkley Hill, Tayler Phillips, Dillon Rising, and Josh Gibbs finished second with a time of 3:31.81. Their mark is good enough for eighth all-time at George Fox.

What Comes Next:

The Bruins indoor team will compete next at the NCAA Div. III Outdoor Indoor Championships in Boston, Mass., March 8-9.