Mar 04, 2019

Bruins Tie Program-Best 42 All-Region Awards; Send Seven To Indoor Championships

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • 5 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year Finalists (Annie Wright - 2018 & 2019, Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • 1 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Annie Wright, 2019)
  • 1 George Pasero Team of the Year (2018)
  • 1 Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

NEW ORLEANS --- The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced the NCAA Division III Regional Awards for the 2019 indoor track and field season on Monday.

Full List of USTFCCCA All-Region Athletes

The Bruins dominated the USTCCCA awards for the second straight season, recording the most All-Region honorees in Div. III with 42. Two other programs had more than 35 All-Region selections: Emory (38) and Wartburg (37). This marks the second straight season the Bruins have recorded 42 honorees on the All-Region list from the USTFCCCA, which ties the program record for most honors.

A total of 1,460 All-Region honors were handed out to 192 different member institutions. There was a near-even split between genders as women combined for 740 of the honors, compared to 720 for the men. The top-5 individuals in each event from each region earned All-Region distinction, in addition to each member of the region's top-3 relay teams. The regions used for this award are Atlantic, Central, Great Lakes, Mideast, Midwest, New England, South/Southeast, and West.

The Bruins were even on both sides recording 21 honorees on the men's side and 21 on the women's side. Kenny May was the most decorated athlete on the men's side, grabbing three awards in the 4x400 relay, 60m, and 200m. As for the women, Annie Wright led the Bruins with five awards (pentathlon, shot put, 4x400 relay, 60m hurdles, and long jump). Sarah King wasn't too far behind with four awards (200m, 400m, 60m, and 4x400 relay).

Men Honorees:

Jack Ammon (800m, 4x400 relay), Joel Carroll (high jump), Henry Fillmore (60m hurdles), Chris Gray (pole vault), Ethan Kassebaum (long jump), Noah LaMadrid (long jump), Kenny May (200m, 4x400 relay, 60m), Davis Mihelich (4x400 relay), Tayler Phillips (high jump), Chris Polk (4x400 relay, 400m), Matt Proctor (60m hurdles), Dillon Rising (mile), Cameron Seymour (60m, long jump), Cody Webb (60m hurdles), Jonathan Wilson (triple jump), and Jacoby Wolfe (high jump).

Women Honorees:

Macadia Calavan (400m), Victoria Geiger (high jump), Bethany Gingerich (400m, 4x400 relay), Katie James (400m), Sarah King (200m, 4x400 relay), 400m, 60m), Sydney Radigan (200m), Alissa Swilley (long jump), Kennedy Taube (60m, 200m), Ashlee Van Den Top (800m), Elizabeth Warren (4x400 relay, 400m), and Annie Wright (pentathlon, shot put, 4x400 relay, 60m hurdles, long jump).

Indoor Championships:

The Bruin women will be one of the top contenders for a podium finish at the NCAA Div. III Indoor Championships, entering the championships ranked fourth in the nation. King, Wright, Taube, Warren, and Gingerich will represent the women's team at nationals.

It will be a busy weekend for the fab five, as Wright kicks off the two-day event in the women's pentathlon. Her day will start at 8 am and wrap up around 3 pm on Friday. She is currently ranked fourth in the pentathlon with 3,577 points.

Taube will run in the women's 60m dash and the 200m. She enters the meet ranked sixth in the nation in the 60m with a time of 7.70 and 20th in the 200m with a time of 25.20.

King comes in as a clear favorite in the 200m and 400m, as she is ranked No. 1 in the nation in both events. She holds the top time in the 200m of 24.23 and the top time in the 400m of 54.27.

The final event for the Bruins on the women's side will be the 4x400 relay. The team consists of Warren, Wright, Gingerich, and King. They are currently ranked seventh with a time of 3:50.49.

On the men's side, May and Wolfe will represent the Bruins. May is ranked 20th in the 60m with a time of 6.92, while Wolfe enters the high jump at 10th with a mark of 2.06m.

Schedule of Events:

Friday, March 8 – All times in PST

Pentathlon (8am-3pm) – Annie Wright

Women's 60m prelims (12:20 pm) – Kennedy Taube

Men's 60m prelims (12:30 pm) – Kenny May

Women's 400m prelims (2:40 pm) – Sarah King

Men's high jump (3:00 pm) – Jacoby Wolfe

Women's 200m prelims (3:50 pm) – King, Taube

Women's 4x400 relay prelims (5:05 pm) – Elizabeth Warren, Annie Wright, Bethany Gingerich, Sarah King, (alternates: Katie James and Kiana Rasubala

Saturday, March 9 – All times in PST

Women's 60m finals (11:10 am)

Men's 60m finals (11:20 am)

Women's 200m finals (1:15 pm)

Women's 4x400 relay finals (2:10 pm)