Mar 08, 2019

Wright Becomes A National Champion After Day One Of NCAA Indoors

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • 5 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year Finalists (Annie Wright - 2018 & 2019, Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • 1 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Annie Wright, 2019)
  • 1 George Pasero Team of the Year (2018)
  • 1 Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

Photo Courtesy of D3photography/Ryan Coleman

BOSTON --- After the first day of the NCAA Division III Indoor Track and Field Championships, George Fox's Annie Wright won the women's pentathlon to claim the Bruins' second National Champion in the program's history.  

Live Results


Wright, a senior from Granite Bay, California, secured her national championship in the final event of the women's pentathlon to join Rachel Kraske as the only other Bruin to grab the top honor. Kraske won the women's 60m hurdles in the 2017 NCAA Indoors. This marks her third All-American honor in Indoors and six overall All-American honor in her career.

Coming into the day, Wright was the fourth seed with a season-best 3,577 points. She quickly made her way to the top of the leaderboard after a fourth-place finish in the women's 60m hurdles. She placed tied for 18th in the high jump but won the shot put and the long jump to propel herself back to the top. Her throw in the shot put of 43-08.00 broke her own school record of 41-10.50, which she set back in 2017. She also set a new PR in the women's long jump with a mark of 18-02.50 to move up to third all-time at George Fox.

Heading into the final event, Wright was in third place and 50 points behind first place. Wright blew the competition away in her heat with a time of 2:21.22 to place second overall and grab 807 points to claim the top honor as a National Champion. She finished with a new PR of 3,729 points, which breaks her own school record (3,611) and moves her to third all-time in Div. III Indoor history.

As for the other Bruins competing on day one, Kennedy Taube ran a time of 7.68 in the women's 60m to qualify for finals on Saturday. Her time of 7.68 breaks her own George Fox school record of 7.70.

Sarah King qualified for finals in the women's 400m after running a time of 56.66 to place third in the prelims. King also qualified for the finals in the women's 200m with a time of 25.03 to take fourth.

Wright, Elizabeth Warren, Bethany Gingerich, and Katie James ran as the Bruins' 4x400 relay team. James ran as an alternate for King after King's big day. The Bruins finished with a time of 3:56.51 to barely miss making it into the finals. 

On the men's side, Kenny May was unable to qualify for the finals in the men's 60m with a time of 7.05. Jacoby Wolfe placed 10th in the men's high jump with a mark of 6-06.75.

The Bruin women currently have 10 points on the day and are tied for third with four other teams. Johns Hopkins is currently in first with 13 points. 

Schedule of Events:

Saturday, March 9 – All times in PST

Women's 60m finals (11:10 am) – Kennedy Taube

Women's 400m finals (12:30 pm) – Sarah King

Women's 200m finals (1:15 pm) – Sarah King