Mar 16, 2019

Bruins Win 11 Events At Rich Allen Classic

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • 5 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year Finalists (Annie Wright - 2018 & 2019, Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • 1 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Annie Wright, 2019)
  • 1 George Pasero Team of the Year (2018)
  • 1 Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

NEWBERG --- The George Fox men and women's outdoor track and field team won a combined 11 events on Saturday, as the Bruins hosted schools across the area at the Rich Allen Classic.


It was a successful day for the Bruins at Stoffer Family Stadium, as the men's team won five events while the women's team won six.

Event Winners – Men:

Davis Mihelich won the men's 200m with a time of 22.00. Mihelich moves to eighth all-time at George Fox.

Chris Polk won the men's 400m with a time of 49.40.

Colby Harper won the men's 3000m steeplechase with a time of 10:22.59.

Jacoby Wolfe won the men's high jump with a mark of 6-09.50.

Davis Smith won the men's pole vault with a mark of 14-04.75. Smith moves to 10th all-time at George Fox.

Other Notable Performers:

Collin Alteneder finished second in the men's hammer with a throw of 166-07. Alteneder's mark moves him to fourth all-time at George Fox.

Mihelich also placed second in the men's 100m with a time of 11.07. Dillon Rising and Josh Gibbs placed third and fourth in the 800m, respectively. Rising finished with a time of 1:59.63, while Gibbs ran a time of 1:59.94.

Timothy Kaelin placed second in the men's 1500m with a time of 4:03.31. Cody Webb finished second in the men's 110m hurdles with a time of 15.18, while Matt Proctor was right behind in third with a time of 15.70. Jesse Freitas finished second in the men's 400m hurdles with a time of 1:01.92.

Noah LaMadrid finished second in the men's long jump with a mark of 21-00.50.

Event Winners – Women:

Sydney Radigan won the women's 100m with a time of 12.28. Radigan is now tied for sixth all-time at George Fox.

Sarah King won the women's 200m with a time of 24.73.

Ashlee Van Den Top won the women's 800m with a time of 2:25.08.

Emma Moon won the women's 5000m with a time of 19:32.78.

The women's 4x100-relay team of Mandi Calavan, Megan Miller, Olivia Valente, and Lis Larsen won their event with a time of 49.29.

The Bruins' 4x400-relay team of Rasubala, Macadia Calavan, Gingerich, James went on to win with a time of 4:03.36.

Other Notable Performers:

Sarah King and Kennedy Taube finished behind Radigan in the women's 100m, taking second and third, respectively. King finished with a time of 12.32, while Taube ran a time of 12.37.

Lydia Gronseth finished second in the 5000m with a time of 19:40.57.

Annie Wright placed second in the women's 100m hurdles with a time of 15.21. Bethany Gingerich, Kiana Rasubala, and Kaite James placed 2-3-4 in the women's 400m hurdles, respectively. Gingerich had the top time of the three at 1:06.24.

Emily Dufour made a great showing in the women's high jump, placing second behind Division I's Portland State Ceil Dunleavy with a mark of 5-04.50.  Tahnisha Manibusan finished second in the women's discus with a throw of 127-08, while Riley Moresco placed third in the women's hammer with a mark of 131-02.

What Comes Next:

The Bruins are back in action March 21-23 in Santa Barbara, California, at the Jim Klein Combined Events/Westmont Collegiate Classic.