Mar 23, 2019

Bruins Record Multiple Top Marks at Westmont Collegiate Classic

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • Three Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • One Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

SANTA BARBARA --- The George Fox outdoor track and field team wrapped up the Westmont Collegiate Classic on Saturday, as the Bruins finished the meet with multiple top marks.


The women's 4x100m relay team of Sarah King, Kennedy Taube, Sara Turner, and Sydney Radigan broke the George Fox school record with a time of 46.39 to win the event. The previous school record was held by Taube, Turner, Lis Larsen, and King in 2018 with a time of 46.55. The new time is the nation's leader in NCAA Division III and is faster than the Bruins' 4x100m relay team that won at National's last season.

Jacoby Wolfe won the men's high jump with a mark of 7-0.25 to tie the school record at George Fox. Wolfe is now tied with Bruin Tim Haen at the top spot in the men's high jump at George Fox, which was set in 1990. Wolfe's mark is the national leader by over three inches.

Taube continued her success on the day with a win in the women's 100m with a time of 12.13. Taube's time ties Turner for the school record in that event and moves her to second in the nation.

King won the women's 400m with a time of 55.01 and is now the national leader in that event. Shaye Vanderville finished third in the women's pole vault with a mark of 11-05.75, which moves her to tie for sixth all-time at George Fox. Matney Jamieson won the women's discus throw with a mark of 134-10.

Other top-10 marks:

Annie Wright 10th in the women's 200m, 25.25

Wright school record in the women's heptathlon, 5,307

Wright School record in the shot put, 44-0.75'

Alissa Swilley 8th in the women's heptathlon, 4,394

What Comes Next:

The Bruins will next compete at the UC San Diego Collegiate Open on Saturday, March 30.