Mar 30, 2019

Bruins Post Top Marks At UC San Diego

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • Three Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • One Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

Photo Courtesy of Bryan Weiss

LA JOLLA --- The George Fox men and women's outdoor track and field team spent the day down in California, as the Bruins competed at the California Collegiate Open hosted by UC San Diego.


The men finished in second out of 13 teams with 104 points, while the women placed fourth out of 13 teams with 75 points. UC San Diego won the meet on both sides, scoring 219 on the men's side and 197 on the women's side.

Sarah King won the women's 100m dash with a time of 12.23, while Sara Turner and Sydney Radigan placed third and fourth, respectively. Turner finished with a time of 12.31, while Radigan recorded a time of 12.32. King also won the women's 200m, posting a time of 24.76.

The Bruins' 4x400 relay team of Elizabeth Warren, Annie Wright, King, and Katie James posted a time of 3:46.98 to finish in first out of 10 teams. Their time is good enough for second all-time at George Fox.

On the men's side, Cody Webb finished second in the men's 110m hurdles with a time of 14.99. His time of 14.99 is a new PR and moves him up to seventh all-time at George Fox.

Kenny May won the men's 100m dash out of 22 runners with a time of 10.78. He now moves up to seventh all-time at George Fox. Davis Mihelich was behind May in third with a time of 11.04. May and Mihelich continued their day with a second and third place finish in the men's 200m, respectively. May ran a time of 21.80, while Mihelich posted a time of 22.09.

Jacoby Wolfe won the men's high jump with a mark of 6-07.

What Comes Next:

The Bruins will compete next at the Jenn Boymen Memorial Invitational on Saturday, April 6.