Apr 26, 2019

Women First, Men Second After Day One Of NWC Championships

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • 5 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year Finalists (Annie Wright - 2018 & 2019, Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • 1 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Annie Wright, 2019)
  • 1 George Pasero Team of the Year (2018)
  • 1 Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

By Seth Preuss

TACOMA --- The George Fox track and field teams traveled to the Northwest Conference Championships hosted by Pacific Lutheran on Friday and Saturday, April 26 and 27. After the completion of day one, the Bruins finished in first place on the women's side with five scored events and are two points out of first on the men's side with six scored events.


The No. 1-ranked women's team finished the day in first place after grabbing 51 points between the 3000m steeplechase, hammer throw, high jump, long jump, and shot put. Pacific Lutheran is in second with 35.5 points, and Whitworth and Pacific (Ore.) are neck-and-neck at third and fourth with 32 and 31 points, respectively.

The men's team is in second behind Whitworth with 50.5 points to their credit. Whitworth is two points ahead with 52.5, while Pacific Lutheran is in third with 40 points after day one.

Top Performers – Finals

Cameron Seymour won the long jump with a mark of 7.06m, good enough for eighth all-time in the Bruin records book.

Annie Wright finished second in the shot put after a mark of 12.54m, and also finished second in the long jump with a mark of 5.43m. Wright's performance in the shot put is good enough for fifth in the record books at George Fox, an event in which she already holds the record for the school.

Emily Dufour finished tied for second in the high jump with a mark of 1.61m.

Riley Moresco finished second in the women's hammer throw with a toss of 42.36m which moves her into eighth all-time in the record books at George Fox.

Nathaniel Russel placed second in the men's pole vault with a mark of 4.43m.

Davis Smith finished in a tie for third in the men's pole vault with a mark of 4.28m.

Collin Alteneder finished third in the hammer throw with a mark of 49.41m, which is good enough for his second entry in the Bruin record book in seventh. Alteneder already sits in fourth all-time with a mark from earlier this season of 166-07.

Top Performers – Prelims

Chris Polk (400m)

Kenny May (100m, 200m)

Cade Reed (400H)

Kennedy Taube (100m)

Sara Turner (100m)

Bethany Gingerich (400H)

Annie Wright (100H)

Ashley Korb-Doty (100H)

Elizabeth Warren (400m)

Sarah King (200m)

Sydney Radigan (200m)

Men's 4x100m relay team

Women's 4x100m, 4x400m relay teams

What Comes Next

The Bruins finish the meet on Saturday, April 27, and both teams are in good position to defend their titles for the third consecutive season.