Apr 27, 2019

Bruins Complete Three-peat Sweep Of NWC Championships

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • 5 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year Finalists (Annie Wright - 2018 & 2019, Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • 1 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Annie Wright, 2019)
  • 1 George Pasero Team of the Year (2018)
  • 1 Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

By Seth Preuss

TACOMA --- For the third straight season, George Fox has swept the Northwest Conference Championships. The Bruins posted a combined margin of victory of nearly 150 points between the men's and women's programs in the sweep.


The No. 1-ranked women's team finished the NWC tournament as the wire-to-wire winner with 230 points, followed by Whitworth with 137, and NWC Championship host Pacific Lutheran in third with 132.

The men's team erased a two-point deficit from day one and claimed its third consecutive NWC Championship with 212 points, ahead of Whitworth in second with 159 and Pacific (Ore.) in third with 90.

Coach John Smith was honored as the NWC Coach of the Year for both the men's and women's programs after collecting the tenth NWC title of his career between the two teams. He summed up his program's performance by saying, "this meet was just the exclamation point on a season full of memories and fun times with our team, and that experience is what we are all about."

Smith also made a point to share the experience with the community his teams come from, stating, "A big 'thank you' to all our parents, friends and alumni who cheered us on at the meet or online; once again we are thankful to all the Bruins who came before us, and we will continue to build on that foundation.  All glory to God for the abilities we are given, and for the opportunity to represent the mission of George Fox University."

Top Performers


Kenny May was named the men's track athlete of the NWC Championship meet. May won the 200m with a time of 21.63.

Cameron Seymour, Cody Webb, May, and Chris Polk won the 4x100m relay with a time of 41.58 to move into fourth all-time in the Bruin record books and set a new NWC Championship meet record.

Davis Mihelich, Jack Ammon, Cade Reed, and Polk won the 4x400m relay with a time of 3:21.13. With Polk legging out the anchor lap, the Bruins won by more than four full seconds.

Mihelich won the individual 400m with a time of 48.52.

Caleb Reed won the 400m hurdles for the Bruins with a time of 55.18.

Ammon ran a time of 1:56.32 in the 800m to win the event.

Jacoby Wolfe won the men's high jump with a mark of 6-06.25.


Sarah King was named the women's track athlete of the meet. King won the individual 400m with a time of 56.02. King also captured the 200m crown in 24.45, breaking the NWC Conference meet record, the all-time conference record, and the George Fox mark with her time.

Annie Wright was named the women's field athlete of the meet after winning the women's heptathlon with a score of 4953.

The Bruins' 4x100m team of King, Kennedy Taube, Sara Turner, and Sydney Radigan won with a time of 46.88 and broke the NWC Championship meet record, while also moving into third all-time at George Fox.

The 4x400m team of Elizabeth Warren, Macadia Calavan, Katie James, and King won the 4x400m relay for the Bruins with a time of 3:53.56, more than seven seconds faster than the second-place relay team.

Taube won the 100m dash with a time of 12.28.

What Comes Next

The Bruins will compete next in the Portland Twilight meet hosted by Lewis & Clark on May 3 before turning their attention to the Linfield Open in McMinnville on May 4.