May 02, 2019

Track & Field All-NWC Team Announced, May, Wright, King, & Smith Among Top Honorees

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • 5 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year Finalists (Annie Wright - 2018 & 2019, Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • 1 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Annie Wright, 2019)
  • 1 George Pasero Team of the Year (2018)
  • 1 Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

By Seth Preuss

HILLSBORO --- The 2019 Outdoor Track and Field All-Northwest Conference athletes were announced by the conference office on Thursday, May 2. John Smith of George Fox University was named NWC Coach of the Year for the men's and women's programs for the eighth time in his career, while Sarah King, Annie Wright, and Kenny May were honored as Performer of the Meet for track, field, and track, respectively.

2019 All-NWC Team

In all, 29 Bruin athletes were selected as All-NWC after placing first, second, or third in at least one event at the NWC Championship meet hosted by Pacific Lutheran University on April 26 & 27 in Tacoma, Wash. 10 Bruins were named All-NWC in multiple events, led by King and Wright with four selections each on the women's side and Chris Polk with three on the men's team.

Top Performers

King was named the Women's Outstanding Track Performer of the Meet after setting a new record in the 200m for the conference, the NWC Championship meet, and the Bruins' program with a time of 24.45. She also won the 400m individually with a time of 56.02, and helped the Bruins' 4x100m and 4x400m teams win both events for George Fox.

Wright was named the Women's Outstanding Field Performer of the Meet after winning the women's heptathlon with a score of 4953.

May was named the Men's Outstanding Track Performer of the Meet. May won the 200m with a time of 21.63 and also helped the Bruins' 4x100m team set a new NWC Championship meet record.

The Bruins' 4x100m team of King, Kennedy Taube, Sara Turner, and Sydney Radigan won with a time of 46.88 and broke the NWC Championship meet record, while also moving into third all-time at George Fox.

Cameron SeymourCody Webb, May, and Polk won the 4x100m relay with a time of 41.58 to move into fourth all-time in the Bruin record books and set a new NWC Championship meet record.

What Comes Next

The Bruins will compete next in the Portland Twilight meet hosted by Lewis & Clark on May 3 before turning their attention to the Linfield Open in McMinnville on May 4.