May 29, 2019

Bruins Add Two More National Awards In 2019

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • Three Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • One Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

NEW ORLEANS – National Athletes & Coaches of the Year for the 2019 NCAA Division III Outdoor Track & Field season were announced Wednesday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

These awards were voted on by USTFCCCA member coaches based on performances at both the 2019 NCAA Division III Outdoor Track & Field Championships, held May 23-25 in Geneva, Ohio, and throughout the regular season.

Annie Wright was named the Women's Field Athlete of the Year after a series of standout performances in 2019. Wright, a senior from Granite Bay, Calif., did it all across each of the seven events she competed in during the heptathlon. She had two shining moments in 2019: One at the NCAA DIII Outdoor Championships where she won the national title in the event; The other at the Westmont Collegiate Classic back in March when she recorded the third best total in NCAA DIII history (5307), the best mark since 1992 and the best mark under the new javelin rules.

Wright is the first athlete from George Fox to have been named National Women's Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year and is the third heptathlete to win this honor since 2008.

For the second consecutive season, Associate Head Coach Adam Haldorson was tabbed by USTFCCCA as the Women's Assistant Coach of the Year. He is the first coach in the history of the award to win in back-to-back fashion.

Now in his ninth season for the Bruins, Haldorson oversees the long sprints, hurdles, high jump, long relays and combined events. His athletes combined to score 24 of George Fox's 36 points at the NCAA DIII Outdoor Championships, which included a pair of national titles in the 400 by Sarah King, and in the heptathlon by Wright.