Jul 17, 2019

Wright Tabbed As 2019 Female Ad Rutschman Honoree

A Winning Tradition

  • 8 Northwest Conference Championships - Women (2000, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018)
  • 2 Northwest Conference Championship - Men (2017, 2018)
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 130 All-Americans (68 men, 62 women)
  • 8 Men's National Champions (5 NAIA, 3 NCAA)
  • 13 Women's National Champions (2 USTFF, 7 NAIA, 4 NCAA)
  • 38 Academic All-Americans (17 men, 21 women)
  • 1 Academic All-American of the Year (Ryan Chaney, 1997)
  • 5 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year Finalists (Annie Wright - 2018 & 2019, Irene Johnson - 2011, Joel Krebs - 2007, Michelle Forbes - 2004)
  • 1 Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Annie Wright, 2019)
  • 1 George Pasero Team of the Year (2018)
  • 1 Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female Finalists (Jill Beals - 1992)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Men's Championship (1995)
  • 2 NAIA District Men's Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 12 NAIA Women's National Meets (4 Top 10 finishes)
  • 1 NAIA Women's District Championships (1992)
  • 1 NAIA Female Athlete of the Year (Nancy Rismiller, 1996)
  • 2 Women's Conference of Independent Colleges Championships (1979, 1980)
  • 1 Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1995)

PORTLAND (July 17, 2019) --- The Oregon Sports Awards, presented by NBC Sports Northwest, has selected Annie Wright as one of its two annual Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year honorees.

Each year, a male and a female athlete are selected from a field comprised of NCAA DII, DIII, NAIA, and community college student-athletes from 24 different institutions in the state of Oregon. The nominees for the award are voted on by various media members and sports professionals around the state.

Wright was selected from among a group of three finalists after winning two individual national championships for George Fox University. Wright claimed the 2019 NCAA Indoor National Championship trophy for the pentathlon with a score of 3,729 in the event, which is both a George Fox record and third all-time in NCAA DIII history.

"It's been an absolute privilege to be a member of the track and field team for my four years at George Fox," Wright said of her Bruin athletic career. "My teammates, coaches, parents, and administrators have been so encouraging and have always pushed me to accomplish more.  I'm so thankful to Jesus Christ; he has blessed this experience.  This isn't my award, it's His."

Wright was also crowned the Outdoor National Champion in the heptathlon in 2019 after tallying 5,101 points to claim her second career individual championship as a Bruin. Additionally, her heptathlon score of 5,307 set at Westmont on March 22, 2019, is second all-time in NCAA DIII history.

Head coach John Smith, who helped push and develop Wright's gifts through her four years, was proud of not only the athletic feats that Wright achieved but how she helped lead by example.

"This award doesn't come close to defining her," Smith said of Wright. "Annie modeled how to not just be a good athlete, but how to be a good teammate and competitor.  Her upbringing in a small town in Iowa gave her a firm foundation of family and what it means to be in a community, something that we strive to do well here at George Fox.

"Annie helped us build on that community, and gave greatly of her time and energy, to the track coaches and athletes.  She always put Christ above all else, and will impact so many lives as she embarks on her new journey of being a physical education teacher."

Wright was a U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) All-Academic student-athlete and is a recent graduate from George Fox. She was also named the USTFCCCA Women's Field Athlete of the Year for NCAA DIII outdoor track and field.

"As a father of a young daughter, probably the biggest compliment I could possibly give is that I hope my daughter turns out like Annie Wright," said George Fox athletic director Adam Puckett. "She is a remarkable young lady that has worked extremely hard for everything she has accomplished - university records, conference records, NCAA all-time performances, and national championships. However, what truly defines Annie is her laughter and joy that impacts every teammate, competitor, coach and administrator she interacts with. She is one of a kind and I am very proud of her."

Other Small College Athlete of the Year nominees included the following: Maya Ah You Dias, Eastern Oregon University women's basketball; Olivia McDaniel, Linfield College track and field; Conor Bailey, Willamette University baseball; Zach Beltz, Southern Oregon University track and field; Mitchell Fink, Oregon Institute of Technology basketball.

Wright was also a finalist for the award in 2018. She is the first Bruin track and field athlete to win the award and the second athlete in the history of the university to receive the honor, joining Kristin Shielee from the 2009 women's basketball national championship team.