May 07, 2019

Bruins Make First-Ever Appearance In NCAA Tournament Against Colorado College

A Winning Tradition

  • One NCAA Tournament Appearance (Second Round - 2019)
  • Four Northwest Conference Championships (2016, 2017, 2018, 2019)
  • Three IWLCA All-Region Athletes (Jess Hanson, 2018; Lois Ray, 2019; Jennifer Burke, 2019)
  • Three Northwest Conference Players of the Year (Alexa Nakashimada, 2016; Jess Hanson, 2018; Lois Ray, 2019)
  • Two NWC Coach of the Year Awards (Katie Mastropaolo, 2018; Katie Mastropaolo, 2019)
  • 44 All-Northwest Conference Athletes  
  • Six straight winning seasons (2014-19)

COLORADO SPRINGS --- For the first time in program history, the George Fox women's lacrosse team will make an appearance in the 2019 NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Championship on Sunday, May 12, against Colorado College.

2019 NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Bracket (PDF)

The Bruins (14-2) recorded their fourth straight Northwest Conference Championship in order to secure the conference's first-ever automatic bid. With Whitworth and Willamette joining the NWC for the 2019 season, the conference reached seven participating schools, which provided the conference winner with an automatic bid.

Colorado College earned an at-large berth after finishing the regular season with a 17-1 overall record. The Bruins are familiar with the Tigers as they met earlier in the season in a 19-9 loss on March 25. Both the Bruins and the Tigers will forgo the first round and the winner will advance to the NCAA Div. III Regionals on May 18 at a site to be announced later.

Head Coach Katie Mastropaolo guided the Bruins to their third straight undefeated conference season and was named NWC Coach of the Year for the second time in her two seasons at the helm.

The Bruins enjoyed a perfect 12-0 record against NWC opponents and set a new school record for most conference wins in a single season. The Bruins also improved their win streak to 29 this season against conference opponents.

Lois Ray became the Bruins' third NWC Player of the Year after leading the conference in points, goals, assists, shots, and shots on goal. Ray was also named All-NWC first-team along with Madison Strickland, Jennifer Burke, Meredith Teel, Bailey Faust, Emma Fanger, and Ella Rand. Isabella Alfaro was selected as an All-NWC second-team member.

The Bruins rank second in scoring margin (13.63) and shot percentage (56.1) among all NCAA Div. III opponents. The Bruins also rank third in scoring offense (18.31) and scoring defense (4.69). Ray holds the fifth most points among Div. III athletes with 128 points on the season.

As for the Tigers, Eva King, Maggi O'Donnell, and Allie Thuet are the team's primary scorers on CC's high-scoring offense. King leads the team with 91 points, while O'Donnell is second with 75 points and Thuet is third with 66 points.

This marks the fourth time the Bruins and the Tigers will meet, as the Tigers hold a 3-0 advantage over the Bruins.

The game will start at 1 pm (MDT) at Washburn Field on the campus of Colorado College.