Nov 13, 2010

WEST REGIONAL: Bruins Close 2010 Season at Regionals

A Winning Tradition

  • Eight NAIA Men's National Meets (5 Top 10 finishes)
  • Five NAIA District Men's Championships (1977, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992)
  • One NCCAA Women's National Championship (1988)
  • Nine NAIA Women's National Meets (6 Top 10 finishes)
  • Six NAIA Women's District Championships (1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993)
  • One Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1994)
  • Two NAIA Region Coaches of the Year
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 23 All-Americans (6 men, 17 women)
  • 53 Academic All-Americans (18 men, 35 women)

SALEM, Ore. - George Fox brought their 2010 cross country season to a conclusion with Joseph Pia and Lizzy Alaimo leading the way in the NCAA Division III West Regional Championship 8K race on a drizzly Saturday morning here at Bush’s Pasture Park.

Pia posted the top time for George Fox with a 27:16.60, finishing 45th overall out of 116 runners and for team scoring.  Also counting for the Bruins were Kyle Dreibelbis with a 27:24.66 (49th/49th), Allen Cassel with a 27:32.09 (52nd/52nd), Chad Sutfin with a 28:13.54 (82nd/82nd), and Aaron Molstad with 28:25.38 (90th/90th).  Other Bruins who competed were Tyler Magill with a 28:41.93 (98th) and Austin Morrell with a 28:45.18 (99th).

The Bruins compiled a five-runner score of 318 points, trailing 11th-place California Lutheran University’s 290 points but ahead of the 329 points by 13th-place Pacific University.  Host Willamette University edged the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges 63-65 for the regional title.  Jackson Brainerd of Colorado College took individual honors with a time of 25:23.17, almost seven seconds ahead of Willamette’s Stefan Redfield, who ran a 25:30.10.

For the women, Alaimo led the Bruins’ season-ending efforts by running a time of 24:16.48 and finishing 53rd out of 119 entrants.  Chelsea Sowards ran a 25:09.96 to finish 83rd, and Alyssa Turner turned in a mark of 27:04.00 to place 112th.

The Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges cruised to victory in the women's regional race with a score of 62, well ahead of Whitworth University’s 97.  A total of 16 teams received scores.  In the individual race, Annie Lydens of the Pomona-Pitzer Colleges took top honors with a time of 21:51.84, just under three seconds ahead of Jennifer Tave of Claremont, who ran a 21:54.79. 

On the men's side, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps and Whitworth earned automatic berths in the NCAA Division III National Championships on Nov. 20 at Wartburg College in Waverly, Iowa.  Willamette and Claremont-Mudd-Scripps earned the women's automatic berths.  Teams placing third, fourth and fifth are eligible for at-large berths to the nationals, which will be awarded by the NCAA on Sunday.  A total of 16 automatic berths and 16 at-large bids will fill the field of team entries for the women’s and men’s races at the NCAA Championships. In addition, the top seven runners in each region whose teams do not receive automatic or at-large bids will qualify as individuals.