Oct 05, 2013

WARNER PACIFIC OPEN: Bruins Outrace Knights in Both Men’s and Women’s Divisions

A Winning Tradition

  • Eight NAIA Men's National Meets (5 Top 10 finishes)
  • Five NAIA District Men's Championships (1977, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992)
  • One NCCAA Women's National Championship (1988)
  • Nine NAIA Women's National Meets (6 Top 10 finishes)
  • Six NAIA Women's District Championships (1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993)
  • One Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1994)
  • Two NAIA Region Coaches of the Year
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 23 All-Americans (6 men, 17 women)
  • 53 Academic All-Americans (18 men, 35 women)

Men's Results / Women's Results


FAIRVIEW, Ore. – Outscoring the host team in both the men’s and women’s divisions, the George Fox University Bruins finished first twice in the Warner Pacific College Open cross country race, a 5K combined event, Saturday afternoon here at the Blue Lake Regional Park in suburban northeast Portland. 


In the men’s division, George Fox out-pointed Warner Pacific 15 to 50, taking the top seven team scoring positions and placing nine runners ahead of the host team’s best.  The Bruins had eight of the top 11 runners overall, the other three being unattached, and nine of the top 13 spots, with one Central Oregon Community College runner in the mix.


The Bruins’ top runner was Kody Tarbell, who finished third overall and first for team scoring with a time of 16:23.20.  First place overall went to unattached Dustin Franta, who ran a 15:52.00.  Other Bruins scoring points were Cody Thompson with a 16:32.20 (4th/2nd), Bryant Quinn with a 16:39.60 (5th/3rd), Aaron Molstad with a 16:58.40 (7th/4th), and Micah Tate with a 17:11.20 (8th/5th).


Also competing for George Fox were Will Lawrence (17:12.00, 9th), Alex Lull (17:17.30, 10th), Zach Bibb (17:30.20, 11th), Marc us Mateo (17:35.40, 13th),Kevin Greco (18:45.40, 17th), Devon Donahue (18:56.20, 19th), Jahnathon Larson (19:00.50, 20th), and Grant McGill (19:19.50, 21st).


Erin Sanders won the women’s division for the Bruins with a time of 19:36.80, over 40 seconds better than the 20:16.90 by runner-up Matice Dameron of Warner Pacific.  Sander’s effort led the Bruins to a team score of 20 points to 38 for Warner Pacific.  Also counting for the Bruins were Rachel Gibbs with a 20:17.60 (3rd/3rd), Sarah MacKenzie with a 20:28.20 (4th/4th), Katie Dyk with a 20:31.70 (5th/5th), and Kelly Toms with a 21:55.80 (7th/7th).


Additional Bruin runners included Sarah Ng (22:25.20 (9th), Emily Veer (22:29.90, 11th), Emily Dobrinski (22:39.30, 12th), Savannah Hamilton (22:53.10, 14th), Codi Morton (24:42.40, 15th), and Emily Joy (26:06.20, 18th).


"It was nice for Erin to get her first college win and for Kody to be the first collegiate man in the race,” said George Fox head coach Randy Dalzell.  “Both our teams ran very well. The course was wet and sloppy on the backside, which slowed things down a bit, but the overall weather for the meet was beautiful.  We were missing Joseph Pia (school function), Kyle Dreibelbis (sick), and Nathan Wiggins (sick), but the rest of the men ran very well, with a perfect score for the meet and nine guys in front of the other team’s No. 1.


“Rachel ran very well for the women, following Erin fairly closely and finishing third overall in the meet.  Her time was a big PR on a course that was not very fast, so her effort was very good.  We had a gap between our four and five runners, which we need to fill on the women's side to score well as a team at bigger meets.”


Complete results of the Warner Pacific Open races, courtesy of the Warner Pacific sports information office, are available on the George Fox cross country website.  The results of the men’s division may be found at http://athletics.georgefox.edu/sports/xc/2013-14/files/1005m.pdf, and the women’s division results are at http://athletics.georgefox.edu/sports/xc/2013-14/files/1005w.pdf.


NEXT: The Bruins will host their own GFU Invitational at Willamette Mission State Park near Brooks, Ore., next Saturday, Oct. 12.  The first college division race is scheduled for a 10:00 a.m. start, and there will be races for boys’ and girls’ high school teams following the college races.