Oct 29, 2016

Bruins Host NWC Cross Country Championships

A Winning Tradition

  • Eight NAIA Men's National Meets (5 Top 10 finishes)
  • Five NAIA District Men's Championships (1977, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992)
  • One NCCAA Women's National Championship (1988)
  • Nine NAIA Women's National Meets (6 Top 10 finishes)
  • Six NAIA Women's District Championships (1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993)
  • One Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1994)
  • Two NAIA Region Coaches of the Year
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 23 All-Americans (6 men, 17 women)
  • 53 Academic All-Americans (18 men, 35 women)

Photo Taken By: Jake Ryan, Student Photographer

BROOKS, Ore. --- The George Fox men's and women's cross country teams hosted the 2016 Northwest Conference Championships, Saturday morning.

The men finished sixth out of the nine teams, while the women placed eighth out of nine teams.

Kayla Moore was the top finisher on the women's side with a time of 22:49.0 at 15th. She just missed being named All-NWC, as the Top 14 finishers automatically qualify for that honor. Rachel Gibbs ran a time of 23:22.6 to take 24th, while Jimena Pineda placed 35th with a time of 23:47.9. Samantha McKibbon finished 42nd with a 24:09.0, Grace Ferguson placed 44th with a 24:20.0 and McKenzie Young ran a 24:32.0 to take 47th.

"Our top three women  ran very well with significant personal bests," said head coach Randy Dalzell." We needed a better 4-5 back door to move up and we were missing Megan Parks, who is out with a stress fracture. Ladia Gronseth also ran a big PR in our #8 spot. If our front ends run like that at regionals, and we have a better back end, we can make a nice move up at the regional meet."

Olivia Mancl of Willamette won the championship with a time of 20:53.8, and was named Women's NWC Runner of the Year. Whitworth scored 42 points as a team to win the event by nine points over Willamette in second. Linfield placed third with 105 points.  

Meanwhile, on the men's side, Spencer Elmore led the pack with a 26:28.8 to place 18th. Brendon Henkel ran a time of 26:56.1 to finish 26th, while Christian Parr was right behind at 27th with a time of 26:56.4. Romare Ashford placed 32nd with a time of 27:04.9, and Colin Atchison finished 36th with a time of 27:12.8. Josh Meyer ran a time of 27:16.9 to take 39th.

"Our top two men both had problems with bad stomach/side pain today," said Dalzell. "Josh Meyer and Christian Parr, so we didn't have a front end. Elmore ended up as our No. 1 guy with a pretty decent race for him. At regionals we just need to get back to running like we have earlier in the year, and we will move up significantly." 

Brad Hodkinson of Pacific Lutheran won the championship with a time of 24:56.3, and was named Men's NWC Runner of the Year. Willamette won the men's side with 36 points, while Pacific Lutheran placed second with 81 points. Whitman came in third with 90 points.

What Comes Next:
The NCAA Division III West Regional will be held in Salem, Oregon on Nov. 12.