A Winning Tradition

  • Eight NAIA Men's National Meets (5 Top 10 finishes)
  • Five NAIA District Men's Championships (1977, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992)
  • One NCCAA Women's National Championship (1988)
  • Nine NAIA Women's National Meets (6 Top 10 finishes)
  • Six NAIA Women's District Championships (1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993)
  • One Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1994)
  • Two NAIA Region Coaches of the Year
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 23 All-Americans (6 men, 17 women)
  • 53 Academic All-Americans (18 men, 35 women)

MCMINNVILLE, Ore. --- The George Fox men's and women's cross country teams kicked off its season at the Linfield Harrier Classic Friday, as both teams came away with a second place finish.


The men finished with a team total of 44 points, placing all five runners in the Top 15 out of 47 athletes. NCAA Division II Western Oregon won the men's 6k with 40 points, recording four runners in the Top 10. The Bruins were led by Christian Parr, who kicked off his final season as a Bruin with a second place finish, and a final time of 20:05.12.

Spencer Elmore wasn't too far behind in seventh place with a time of 20:30.37, and freshman Timothy Kaelin was the third best runner for the Bruins with a ninth place finish. Kaelin finished with a time of 20:35.68. Rylan Larsen placed 12th overall with a time of 20:38.11. Brendon Henkel was the final scorer for the Bruins in 14th with a time of 20:47.60. Josh Gibbs also cracked the Top 20 with an 18th place finish, while Romare Ashford was just outside the Top 20 at 21st.

Meanwhile, on the women's side, the Bruins recorded 47 points to take second out of the five competing teams. George Fox finished ahead of both NCAA Div. II Concordia (Ore.) and Western Oregon.

Kayla Moore paced the Bruins with a time of 15:37.41 to cross the finish line in fourth place. Maci Jokumsen, who competed in her first-ever collegiate cross country race cracked the Top 10 with a ninth place finish. Jokumsen finished with a time of 16:08.75.

Abby Bitzenburg crossed the line right after Jokumsen to place 10th with a time of 16:12.64. Rachel Gibbs finished 12th with a time of 16:23.17, while Samantha McKibbon placed 16th and a time of 16:34.91. Anna Land was the final scorer the Bruins with a time of 17:11.62 to take 23rd, but score as 22nd.  

What Comes Next:

The Bruins will run next at the Sundodger Invitational Saturday, Sept. 16, in Seattle, Washington.