Sep 21, 2019

Bruins Finish Fourth At Pacific Lutheran Invite

A Winning Tradition

  • Eight NAIA Men's National Meets (5 Top 10 finishes)
  • Five NAIA District Men's Championships (1977, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992)
  • One NCCAA Women's National Championship (1988)
  • Nine NAIA Women's National Meets (6 Top 10 finishes)
  • Six NAIA Women's District Championships (1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993)
  • One Cascade Conference Women's Championship (1994)
  • Two NAIA Region Coaches of the Year
  • 10 Conference / District Coaches of the Year
  • 23 All-Americans (6 men, 17 women)
  • 53 Academic All-Americans (18 men, 35 women)

TACOMA --- The George Fox cross country teams traveled to race in the Pacific Lutheran Invitational on Saturday, Sept. 21, and came in fourth on both the men's and women's side of the competition.


The women ran the 6K and finished fourth of nine teams in a mixed field of NCAA DII, DIII, and community college teams. As a team, the Bruins' scoring spread spanned just 39 seconds, meaning that the George Fox runners were able to keep pace with each other well in the field.

Brenna Sclair set the pace for the Bruins with a time of 23:54.4 and finished 18th overall. Ashlee Van Den Top and Jessica Neal finished seconds apart at 24:21.7 and 24:28.6, respectively, and Rianna Comery crossed the finish line in a dead tie with Lydia Gronseth at 24:33.4 to round out the Bruins' scoring five.

Olivia Nygreen ran a time of 25:20.1, Amarie Miller finished with at 26:16.6, and Emily Bruns clocked in at 26:22.2. Six of the Bruins' eight finishers ended in the top 50 of the field of 85.

The men's team finished fourth in its first 8K of the 2019 season, placing well in a similarly mixed NCAA DII, DIII, and community college team field.

Peter Weiss finished in the top 10 for the men at 26:13.0, good enough for sixth in the field of 87 runners. Johnathan Guisinger was the next George Fox runner to finish at 26:46.2 and Josh Gibbs was just behind him at 26:53.7.

Trevor Wilber came across the finish line at 27:13.2 and Spencer Sprauge finished at 27:21.0 to fill out the scoring five for George Fox. Four of the Bruins' top five finished in the top 25 of the field.

Timothy Kaelin was just behind Sprauge with a time of 27:27.6 and David Chupp ran a time of 28:26.0 for the Bruins. Noah Rossi, Caleb Giesbrecht, and Noah Elwell finished 57th, 61st, and 63rd, respectively, to cap the morning's race for the Bruins.

What Happens Next

The Bruins compete at the 45th Charles Bowles Willamette Invitational hosted by Willamette University in Salem, Ore., on Oct. 5.